- Prepaid? ‘Prepaid’ bundles require a current balance to use the system; ‘Recurring’ bundles get charged periodically for usage to date. You can only configure this setting during bundle-creation – you can’t update it afterwards. If you decided you needed to change this setting later, you would actually need to create another bundle with identical settings from scratch.
- Admin Only An ‘Admin Only’ bundle will not be presented to ordinary users for sign-up – only administrative users will be able to sign a user up to such a bundle.
- Change From or Remove This check box determines whether end-users are allowed to change away from this bundle themselves, via the customer-care portal, once they have been signed onto products within the bundle. If Change From or Remove is not switched on, then once a user is on this product they will be unable to change products themselves – only an appropriately privileged administrative user can change them away from it.
- Change To or Add This check box determines whether end users are allowed to change to products within this bundle themselves, via the customer-care portal. If Change To or Add is not switched on, then any user interested in changing to products within this bundle will need to request an appropriately privileged administrative user to make the changes for them.
- Notify on Change This means that if a user is allowed via other configuration options to change their product arrangement, rather than activate that change immediately the change will be requested to the administration of the system who can then approve that change. The notification is first done by email to an address specified in the ‘Realm Admin’ section of Jet under ‘Automation’ and the approval is done through the “Change Requests” tool which is also under “Realm Admin”.
- Active Determines whether this product is active in the system. If the active attribute is not switched on, this bundle is de-activated. Once a bundle has been deactivated, users can no longer be signed up to it. However the original details of the bundle remain in the database. This is so that historical billing and auditing which depends upon the existence of this bundle is never disrupted.
You can safely de-activate a bundle even if there are users currently signed-up to plans within this bundle. This is because the bundles are, in fact, only templates that are used when adding customers to plans. The plans themselves are the ‘things’ which users are signed up to. The details about which users are signed up to a particular type of plan are retained in the database and can be accessed at any time in the Users on Product report.
- Selected By Default If a bundle is set to be ‘selected by default’, then it will be presented for user sign-up via the ‘Add New User’ screen in a different way than if it is not. When it is set to be selected by default, then when a user is being signed up to your products, this bundle will be already selected for them (there will be a ‘tick’ in the check box for this plan). If no further changes are made by who-ever is signing them up, then this is the bundle they will be assigned.
- Selection Type The ‘Selection Type’ is another toggle which determines how a bundle is presented for user sign-up via the ‘Add New User’ screen. It works as follows:
- When the ‘Selection Type’ is set to ‘Radio’, then this bundle will be selectable via a radio-button style selector. Two or more items which are selectable with a radio-button cannot be chosen simultaneously. This kind of selector is useful for situations where you want to ensure that a user can only sign-up to one out of a set of alternatives. Let’s say you are billing for email accounts to go with one of your services, and you wish to make them available in three ways. You want to be able to say that a user must choose, say, either the single email account option or the five email account option or the ten email account option, but only one of these options at a time. They cannot select both the five email account option and the ten email account option to get fifteen email accounts. If you wish to force users to choose between bundles in this way, you would need to set the ‘Selection Type’ to the ‘Radio’ style selection for each of the alternative bundles.
- When the ‘Selection Type’ is set to ‘Checkbox’ , then this bundle will be selectable via a check box style selector. Two or more items which are selectable with a check box style selector can be chosen simultaneously. This kind of selector is useful if you want to be able to allow a user to sign up to several alternatives simultaneously. Let’s say you have a bundle representing a domain-name hosting service, a bundle representing dial-up web access, and a bundle representing technical support. If these bundles are represented using check box style selectors, then a user could choose to sign up to all three of these services. Another user may decide only to sign up for the hosting and to leave out the dial-up access and the technical support.
- When the ‘Selection Type’ is set to ‘Locked’ , then this bundle will not be selectable at all – there will be no selector listed next to it when a user is being signed up. This means that a user will always be automatically assigned to this bundle.
These kinds of settings (selection via radio-button, check-box, or a locked selection) can also be toggled at the level of plans. This arrangement gives you a lot of freedom in designing product pricing and combination structures which exactly suit your situation.
A common problem when first designing product structures in Jet is to create some bundles or plans, only to find that for some reason they are not being displayed on the ‘Add New User’ page for users to be signed up to. If this occurs, it is always worth checking the values of all these toggles very carefully. For instance, if a bundle has both selector-type ‘locked’ and ‘selected by default’ switched off, then it will not be displayed to users for sign-up even if it is active. Unless this is what you intend, watch all these settings carefully!